## **BROWN COUNTY COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 1**

Mt. Sterling, Illinois August 19, 2021

The special meeting of the Board of Education was held on Thursday evening, August 19, 2021, at 6:00 p.m. in the Brown County High School Auditorium and via Zoom video conference. The meeting was called to order by Heath Fullerton. The minutes were recorded by McKenzie Taute.

On roll call: Fullerton, yea; Blaesing, yea; Blakeley, yea; Hughes, yea; Eichelberger, 6:01; Koch, yea; Boylen, yea.

In person attendance: Lan Eberle, Pollee Craven, Alex Ebbing, Sally Ruble, Tracy Conley, Kris Gallaher, McKenzie Taute, Kim Berkenbile, Kristi Tynan, Christine Spohr, Delmar Barnes, Susan Houston, Heather Miller, Anthony Ceade Jr, Vanessa Markert, Colin Boylen, Bev Stay, Logan Wilson, Adam Lawson, Kennedy Gallaher, Jessica Flynn, Martha Blakeley, Gabe Blakeley, Lance Tynan, Dolly Little, Grace Boylen, Julie Houston, Sarah Gallaher, Melissa Markert, Ginger Teefey, Myronda Staten, Terri Clayton, Katie Houser, Marcy Wort, Jeri Howell, Stacy Scheer, Annie Fullerton, Taylor Winner. Courtney Bereta, Liann Bauch, Robin Northup, Karen Dewitt, Kathy Grady, Amy Ham, Nichole Miller, Linda Kennedy, Chris Miller, David Garrett, Carol Barnett, Emily Smith, Crystal Lewis, Megan Lawson, Diane Settles, Ashley Behymer, Wyatt Gard, Dawn Wettstein, Lori McClenning, Mary Reich, Sarah Maas, James Maas, Jenny Zimmerman, Sheryl Miller, Nicole Taylor, Suzanne Woodward, Scott Woodward, Adam Veith, Rioth Wort, Jagr McGath, Jack Anderson, Addie Hughes, Renee Rebarcak, Mary Ingram, Jennifer Ingram, Kara Cox, Laura Lagoski, Chris Brierton, Molly Burton, Megan Woodward, Lori Jackson, Kathy Mitchell, Lisa Barfield, Brenda Veith, Ethan Howell, Brody Woodward, Tom Moran, David Penn, Jill Schenk, Eric Schenk, Lori Roberts, Diane Lagoski, Jeremey Ward, Sally Dolby, Danielle Bunge, Bethany Selby, Emily Lerch, Ben Lerch, Aaron Koch, Lynn Tomlinson, Cortni Law, Klare Flynn, Sami Johnson, Heather Henry, Cassie Kindhart, Tolly Ebbing, Kelsey Jones, Christi Goudschaal, Jim Planting, Charolette Koch, Aaron Clayton, Katie Berens, Gabby McGath, Katey Flynn, Mason Henry, Kristen Wagner, Levi Vermillion, Jenna Vermillion, Lydia Vermillion, Darin Craven, Gail Gallaher, Julie Kallenbach, Paul Kallenbach, Matt McCaskill, Karl Groesch.

In attendance via Zoom: Shawn McGath, Austin Patton, Kristen Patton, Jolene Hall, Aaron Llewellyn, Natasha Jones, Dave Phelps, Sandy Prather, Emily Hendricker, Gayle Lehne, Kourtney Kassing, Kristy Dewitt, Brandon Gallaher, Nicole Fanshier, Kim Dormire, Megan Kunkel, Landy Grady, Cristy Metz, Jordan Shults, Stacee Rohn, Cara Ham, Amanda McKeon, Cathy Heckel, Jed Parn, Brittany Heinecke, Jessica Wittler, Lisa Ritter, Julie Ward, Stacy Kindhart, Stacy Foote, Amanda Yates, Kayla Sipes, Sequoia Cornell-Conner, Seth Yingling, Niki Maxwell, Trisha Wagner, Emily Ford, Booky Howell, Jessica Ham, Kate Kremer, Tolly Ebbing and 29 unidentified viewers.

Fullerton, Hughes and Eberle read 15 letters submitted for public comment. All letters read were in support of adopting the amended return to learn plan which abides by the governors' mask mandate. Letters were provided from the following:

- Jill Schenk
- Sheryl Miller
- Paula Chapman
- Jillian Theis
- Jennifer Van Giesen
- Jeremy Garret
- Shawn McGath
- Dr. Rick Noble
- Chris Miller
- Sarah Maas
- Jessica Flynn
- Karen Dickhut
- Katie Hauser
- Alan Koch
- Dave Woodruff

Principals Sally Ruble, Alex Ebbing and Pollee Craven spoke on behalf of their staff. Principals mentioned concerns presented by staff and on behalf of their students, regarding non-masking.

Nurse Christi Goudschaal addressed the Board regarding quarantine guidelines for masked and unmasked students and staff. Goudschaal spoke about the only quarantine option for unmasked individuals, noting a required 14-day at home quarantine.

The following people spoke in support of the amended return to learn plan:

- Emily Smith for Abby Harris
- Cortni Law
- Gabby McGath
- Nicole Taylor
- Kennedy Gallaher
- Marcy Wort
- Mary Ingram
- Megan Lawson
- Suzanne Woodward
- Diane Settles with Annie Fullerton, Taylor Winner, Ashley Behymer, Courtney Bereta
- Diane Lagoski
- Aaron Koch
- Aaron Clayton
- Jennifer Ingram
- Laura Lagoski
- Tom Little
- Charlotte Koch
- David Garrett

The following people spoke in support of the current return to learn plan in place. The current plan has mask wearing as highly recommended.

- Jeremey Ward
- Brenda Veith
- Lisa Barfield
- Adam Veith
- Chris Brierton

Board member, John Eichelberger, addressed the audience about the current plan in place, the amended plan, and his feelings on both.

Motion by Blakeley, seconded by Fullerton, to enter closed session at 8:44 p.m. for the following subjects: a) the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees of the School District; b) collective negotiating matters between the School District and its employees or their representatives, or deliberations concerning salary schedules for one or more classes of employees; i) pending, probable, or imminent litigation.

Roll call: Fullerton, yea; Blaesing, yea; Blakeley, yea; Hughes, yea; Eichelberger, yea; Koch, yea; Boylen, yea.

**Motion Carried** 

## Motion by Blakeley, seconded by Eichelberger, to exit closed session at 9:07 p.m.

Roll call: Fullerton, yea; Blaesing, yea; Blakeley, yea; Hughes, yea; Eichelberger, yea; Koch, yea; Boylen, yea.

**Motion Carried** 

## Motion by Hughes, seconded by Koch, to approve the minutes of closed session.

Roll call: Fullerton, yea; Blaesing, yea; Blakeley, yea; Hughes, yea; Eichelberger, yea; Koch, yea; Boylen, yea.

**Motion Carried** 

## Motion by Eichelberger, seconded by Hughes to approve the amended Brown County Return to Learn Plan.

Roll call: Fullerton, yea; Blaesing, yea; Blakeley, yea; Hughes, yea; Eichelberger, yea; Koch, yea; Boylen, yea.

**Motion Carried** 

Motion by Blakeley, seconded by Eichelberger, to adjourn at 9:09 p.m. Motion Carried by Acclamation